Location sharing on Apple devices is a valuable feature that allows you to track the location of your friends, family, coworkers, and more. In order to see someone’s location, they need to be actively sharing it with you via the Find My app.
This app should come preloaded on your device but if not, you can download the Find My app via the App Store on your iPhone, iPad, Macbook, or any Apple device.
When someone stops sharing their location with you on their iPhone, you’ll receive a “No Location Available” message the next time you attempt to access the Find My app. If you see a “No Location Found” message instead, this has a different meaning.
Unlike the “No Location Available” message, the “No Location Found” pop-up does not mean someone has stopped sharing their location with you. This notification can appear for the following reasons:
- Internet connectivity issues
- A low or drained battery
- A turned-off device
- Outdated software
In this case, you should regain access to the person’s location once the connectivity issue is resolved. If you’re still having issues after the above reasons are addressed, you may need to contact Apple support for assistance.
A common misconception about Apple’s location-sharing feature is that you need to be sharing your location in order to access another person’s whereabouts. This is incorrect. As long as someone provides you with direct access to their location by clicking “Share My Location” or “Send My Current Location” you do not need to be sharing yours to find them on the map.